Traveller rating

Excellent1 415

Very good354

Average57

Poor12

Terrible7

Traveller type

Families

Couples

Solo

Business

Friends

Time of year

Mar-May

Jun-Aug

Sep-Nov

Dec-Feb

LanguageAll languages

All languages

English (1 537)

French (261)

Chinese (Trad.) (80)

More languages

Excellent1 415

Very good354

Average57

Poor12

Terrible7

Show reviews that mention

All reviews chez jules attic room no elevator marie antoinette old quebec perfect location pedestrian street breakfast was included stone walls adjoining restaurant flights of stairs boutique hotel small hotel modern amenities wonderful hotel murphy bed your luggage

Filter

Updating list...

816 - 821 of 1 845 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2015

An authentic taste of Vieux Quebec

I had three nights at this hotel in Quebec City as part of a 6 week holiday in Canada and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The charm (albeit very touristy) of Quebec City is in enjoying the old centre of the city. If you are visiting, I would definitely recommend that you stay in the old centre and if you are, the Auberge Place D'Armes will realy give you the traditional experience. I honestly felt like I was back in France. I arrived by plane and it was a taxi ride to the hotel. The hotel itself is on a small pedestrian mall and the taxi will drop you off about 20 metres from the hotel. As the hotel web site and other reviews note, this is an historic building, with no lift and narrow stairs. If you have a lot of luggage or are in need of assistance, I would definitely suggest you only stay in a lower level room, even though you will be offered assistance with your luggage. I stayed in one of the attic rooms, some 80 flights of steps up and had no difficulties. The room was not large but had everything I needed and was, again, very reminiscent of staying in France. The shower was quite something and it would have benefitted from instructions but I managed. The plumbing is also a bit old and I did, unfortunatley, manage to clog the toilet on the morning I left (sorry!). Breakfast was provided in the restaurant downstairs and a small selection of items was included in the room rate. This selection, particularly of hot food, could be improved but what was available was fine. I also ate one night in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The staff were uniformly pleasant. There was free wifi that worked well. The location was perfect for exploring the old city - which is small but will give you a work out due to the changes in level. There is an ATM just at the end of the pedestrian mall on your right as you exit the hotel and the Tourist Information Centre is virtually next door. There are a lot of dining alternatives within a 5 min walk. Overall, an excellent stay and I'd be very happy to return. I left by train. The station is within walking distance if you don't have much luggage but otherwise a short taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have a lot of luggage or any mobility issues.

Ask newkstar about Auberge Place D'Armes

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear newkstar,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your last stay with us. You have said it all!
I agree with you, our location is unique. Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They are always eager to assist our guest with their luggage as they are staying in one of our beautiful superior room in the Attic. We also have beautiful deluxe room and suites, on our lower level.
I am also happy that you enjoyed our installation and breakfast!
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon!
Warmest regards,
Jean-Luc Fluet
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriateThank you. We appreciate your input.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Reviewed 1 July 2015

Comfortable stay

Hotel was in a fantastic location - close to shopping, restaurants and sights.
Small but gorgeous room with eclectic and very french decor... Bed was very comfortable and shower had great pressure once the settings were figured out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street better - check the bathroom/toilet is in a separate room so water doesn't go everywhere.

Ask ange52860 about Auberge Place D'Armes

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear ange52860,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your last stay at Auberge Place d'Armes. Our perfect location in the Old Quebec makes it the best place to start your visit or Quebec! The Chateau Frontenac, Dufferin boardwalk, Petit Champlain district and St-Jean street are all a stone's throw away from the Auberge.
Our owners were able to keep the old style charm from the original mansion and have added modern amenities to make it very unique in the Old Quebec!
Upon your next trip in Quebec city, please do not hesitate to contact us to received your regular guest special rate!
Warmest regards,
Jean-Luc Fluet
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriateThank you. We appreciate your input.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Reviewed 30 June 2015

Great location!

This is a smaller " boutique " hotel. It is directly across from the Chateau Frontenac and 2 minutes from le grand allee. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was quite enjoyable and the serving staff very nice. The location is pivotal and as such you walk just about anywhere you want to go.
Only downside were the front stairs were quite steep. No elevator. Overall I strongly recommend.

Ask Barry C about Auberge Place D'Armes

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Bonjour Barry C,
Merci for your comments on your last with us at the Auberge Place d'Armes!
As you have mentioned in your review, we are located in the center of the Old Quebec, 5 minutes walking distance from every major history sites.
We are proud of our staff. They strive everyday to be the best advisor for our guest!.
The Auberge is building inside two buildings from the pasts centuries, one from 1730 and the second one from 1850. As written on our website and on TripAdvisor, we do not have an elevator in our hotel. We have been working several years to had an elevator in our buildings and we are still working to find a suitable option.
By the meantime, it will be our valet/bellmen's pleasure to assist you with your luggages!
Again, thank you for your good words on your previous stay with us.
Warmest regards,
Jean-Luc Fluet
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriateThank you. We appreciate your input.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Reviewed 30 June 2015

Ideal Quebec City Location

We rented 2 rooms at Auberge Place D'Armes for our recent stay in Quebec City. The location is perfect for walking to everything in the Old City. Both of our rooms were charming, but for some the stairs to the third floor attic room could be a problem. The breakfasts that were included were very good and were served in a bright, cheery dining room. There is a parking garage only a block away. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful in providing suggestions and directions. A good place to stay.

Ask Lynne4050 about Auberge Place D'Armes

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Bonjour Lynne4050,
Than you for your feedback on your last stay at the Auberge Place d'Armes.
We agree with you: our geographic location is fantastic! We are situated at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor, the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac.
Thank you for your comments on our rooms. We tried to take advantage of the 1730 and 1850 old walls and wooden beam and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec.
It has its downside also; as written on our website and on TripAdvisor, we do not have an elevator in our hotel. We have been working several years to had an elevator in our buildings and we are still working to find a suitable option. By the meantime, it will be our valet/bellmen's pleasure to assist you with your luggages.
Chef Simon was really pleased to read about your comments. He and his team are working very hard to provide every morning the best first meal of the day!
Again, thank you for your comments.
Warmest regards,
Jean-Luc Fluet
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriateThank you. We appreciate your input.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Reviewed 30 June 2015

Auberge Place D'Armes- Old Quebec

Excellent location in the Old Quebec - a dozen footsteps from Tourist Information office. Quaint older styling of building looks beautiful. Good restaurants in very easy walking distance. Hop On Hop Off bus stop only 50 mtrs (or less) from front door. Accommodation is in the second story and there is no elevator (lift) - so might be a challenge for those that lack good mobility. Staff willingly carried our luggage to and from room so that solved our heavy lifting of four 23kg suit cases. Rooms are smallish but ok for us. Great little restaurant downstairs in the building - food and service excellent. Overall staff attentiveness was superb. Its a little bit pricey but would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This business uses tools provided by TripAdvisor (or one of its official Review Collection Partners) to encourage and collect guest reviews, including this one.

Ask 300power about Auberge Place D'Armes

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Bonjour 300power,
Merci for your great comment on your last stay with us. It is important for us to know about our guest's satisfaction!
Our staff is our best asset, they are caring people who loves their work , they make THE difference! They are always eager to assit our guest, even with 23kg's suitcases!
Our rooms at the auberge are one-of-a-kind in the Old Quebec. They are romantic and represent everything about the history in the Old Quebec: old original wooden beam and stone wall with modern and unique decoration and amenities! They are all beautiful!
I will pass your good words to our Chef Simon! We are offering a "cuisine du marché" for a great taste of our region.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the auberge.
Warmest regards,
Jean-Luc Fluet
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriateThank you. We appreciate your input.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

View more reviews



Related news

Sirven las fajas quebare usa
Hollies stockholm livigno accommodation
Facebook auto confirm request see all requests
En ptd2 generation hacked para que sirbe tm/hm attrack
Corinho quando deus quer operar ninguem pode impedir
Luis ovalles que diran los vecinos telenovela
Para que sirven las pastillas cloten c
Parole generique le laboratoire de dexter